For Pre-AP Students (a Pep Talk, sort of…)

Tomorrow I will be passing back the first set of Witch-Hunt quizzes. Before I do, I feel the need to talk about what it means to be in the Pre-AP Program.

1.  This is not a class where you practice easy success and ongoing perfection. I am failing you as your teacher if this class is not challenging at times. I will grant it has been fairly easy so far, and I have been rather free with the extra credit opportunities, but it won’t always be that way.

2.  The highest grades on this quiz were B pluses.  Am I unhappy about that?  No.  You can be a straight A student without getting an A on every assignment.  Does it mean the quiz was too hard?  I might have thought that except many of the missed points were from not answering the whole question.  Case in point: “How were Puritan children viewed and treated?”  Many of you told me how they were viewed but not how they were treated.  “What is ironic about the name of Salem?  Many of you explained it comes from “shalom” which means peaceful.  Now how is that ironic?  Please EXPLAIN.  So my big tip here is that you should dig deeper. Explain more. And answer the whole question!

3.  There were several failing grades. Please do not take this to mean that you don’t belong in Pre-AP.  I will be very disappointed if you run to the office to ask for a schedule change. You can do this. It’s just one quiz.   Remember that it’s okay to struggle at times. Show some GRIT and don’t give up. 🙂  In school and life, it’s not just being smart that makes you successful. It is also having a good work ethic and persevering. 

4.  Many of you have extremely high As in my class at the moment. Be grateful for that cushion, knowing that this quiz will not destroy your overall grade.  You may not have an A+ next week, but that’s okay.  I only gave one A+ each semester last year. They are very rare. In terms of GPAs, an A+ and an A mean exactly the same thing.  

5.  The fact is, you have grown up with a focus on multiple choice tests, and having to explain fifteen answers in one class period is not what you are used to.  Don’t feel bad about that. You will get better at this. I promise. 

Okay. That’s it. See you soon. 🙂

 

 

15 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

15 responses to “For Pre-AP Students (a Pep Talk, sort of…)

  1. Carolyn

    I read this post… My daughter is not Pre AP, but I was interested anyway. WOW. Thank you for sharing with these children respect, encouragement, a passion for self-respect and maturity. If this is how you speak to and with your students, then you are certainly setting them up for a confident future. Thank you for making a difference.
    Carolyn

    • Thank you, Carolyn! I really appreciate that. I thought long and hard about what to say but was still worried that it came off as unfeeling. I appreciate your comment very much. 🙂

  2. Sheila

    I also read the post, and was very impressed with the way you seem to address your students! Thank you for the invitation to your blog.

    Sheila

  3. Hi there! This post is as the parent of C.Reed for extra credit. This quiz grade and blog post prompted an excellent, engaging, challenging dinnertime conversation. Your phrasing “ongoing perfection” is an excellent representation of how smart children position themselves, and become dependent on perfection. Our final family takeaway “if you’re always at the head of the class, you’re in the wrong class.” Thanks for the opportunity!

  4. Calvin Reed

    Hi Mrs. Hawksworth this is Calvin reed from your third and fourth period class. I just wanted to say this quiz was kind of hard but I know that I can get through it. I feel like from now on I need to study a little bit more and focus more on the whole answer instead of he answer i first find. I hope he rest of her year is as challenging as and fun as it has been so far!

  5. Rebekah DeCavit

    This is Rebekah from the 3/4 period pre-ap class.

  6. Hi Mrs. Hawksworth–that was a great pep talk! Thanks for encouraging my learner!
    Antoinette Ryun (Luke Ryun’s mom)

  7. Alexis Chamorro

    Lexi was here

  8. Angie Chamorro

    This is Lexi’s mom from your 6th period class. I am greatful for this post. I appreciate you encouraging the kids to not give up just because they didn’t get a good grade.

    • Brent Lowe

      Hi, it’s Aaron Lowe from your 3rd/4th period class. I am doing this to get my extra credit points. I also feel that the test was difficult, but it is a nice awakening to how tough your class is going to be. I hope we have a great year together.

  9. Conney Frazee

    Hello, Carson and I read your comments together. We talked about the value of a good challenge! Sorry I am slow to post on the blog for his extra credit!
    Thank you,
    Conney

  10. christianb0yce

    Hi its me Christian Boyce from your 6 and 8 preiod class

Leave a comment