Week of September 2, 2014

Hello!  Happy Tuesday and Happy September!

I was really happy to see Anthony R, Ethan B, and Sam M at the Valley’s Got Talent competition this weekend.  Thanks for saying hi and not ducking behind chairs to avoid me.  🙂  The show was awesome, and Oakdale’s Steelin’ the Beat won the band division.  🙂

Friday is the last day to post a comment on my blog and get extra credit, so if you’ve subscribed but not had a chance to say hi yet, please don’t forget!  It’s an easy five points for the first student comment and another five points for the first parent comment.  Your comments are the only way I have of knowing who has been to my blog, as I can’t access a list of subscribers/followers.

Also due on Friday is the Messy Room final draft, stapled to the top of your previous drafts.  It should be typed, double-spaced.  Center your title.  In the top left corner, type your name, your teacher’s name, your class title, and the date.  See sample below:

Joe E Spiffy

Ms. Hawksworth

English 8

5 September 2014

Finally, here’s the HOMEWORK for the week:

  • TUESDAY–Reading Slip, Get GS Signed
  • WEDNESDAY–Vocab WB 17-18, Read Grammar Article and underline key points, (Get GS Signed)
  • THURSDAY–Reading Slip, ReRead Grammar Article and answer some questions
  • FRIDAY–Pre-AP students may need to finish reading a portion of Witch-Hunt over the weekend.

Have a good week everyone!

 

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Week of September 2, 2014

  1. Sarah Hjelm

    Love all of the updates and info on your blog. Truly appreciate the time and energy you devote to your students!
    Thank you>

  2. Christian Capuno

    Hi Ms. Hawksworth,it’s my mom and I just saying hi, and just wanted to leave a riddle and a message that should be fun to solve. 🙂 See you tomorrow!

    “I am the beginning of the end, the end of every place. I am the beginning of eternity, the end of time and space.”
    What am I?

    (Trust me the riddle is language related)

    “E tu Brutus?” – Julius Caesar

    Eqpitcvu jh aqw etcemgf vjg eqfg Ou. Jcymuyqtvj!!! Ocfg aqw vjkpm c nkvvng, fkfpv kv?

  3. Elaine Capuno

    Based on the past 3 weeks, I can tell that your students will have a very stimulating and fun school year ahead!

  4. Alexandria hammond

    Hi ms. Hawksworth! So I thought I unsubscribed last year but I guess not:) I just wanted to say that high school is so much fun and I love all my teachers. I do miss junior high though, I also am in academic decathlon with your daughter. So is adina, gaby, and sam. It’s comforting to know that your 8th graders are going through the same… time consuming tasks as we did:) I hope you’re doing well, I just wanted to day hi…so hi. Haha, have a god year Ms. H!

  5. Kearsten Leibenson

    Hello Ms. Hawksworth. I wanted to thank you for all that you do to help your students, and their parents, stay informed about your classes.
    My daughter Juliette has only good things to say about what she’s doing in your class. I look forward to reading more on your blog and hearing more from Juliette.

  6. Carson Frazee

    Hi, this is Carson from 6th and 8th periods. I am learning a lot in your class. Thank you for offering the extra credit points for blogging. I hope you have a good weekend.
    Carson

Leave a comment